Running R script with R objects (RDS)

Hi there,

I am new to galileo.
I am trying to run a piece of R code which reads in R objects - however when I try to run the script the files (ending .RDS) are not listed in the directory despite having uploaded them and they are in the same directory - hence the code will not run.
It seems the problem is limited to RDS files as other files .e.g .csv files are listed when I print what is in the directory.

The error is: Error in gzfile(file, “rb”) : cannot open the connection
Calls: readRDS -> gzfile
and
cannot open compressed file ‘filename.RDS’, probable reason ‘No such file or directory’
Execution halted

Could you help me with this?

Thank you in advance,
Viola

Hi @ky18705, I’m taking a look at this now to see if I can reproduce the problem. I’ll get back to you shortly. Also, if you could share the code snippet here that is throwing the error, that would help a lot.

Hi Todd,

Thank you so much - the error seems to get thrown in the readRDS line of the beginning of my loop:

regions = c(“SW”, “SE”, “NW”, “NE”)
print(paste0(regions))
print(getwd())
print(list.files())
datalist = list()
print(“starting loop”)
for (i in 1:4){

region_str = regions[i]

test1 = readRDS(paste0(region_str,"_model_rf_cforest_seed1_2percent.RDS")) …

But the files are not listed when I print all files prior to the loop.
Thank you so much,
Viola

Thanks for the snippit @ky18705, I made a simple R example that reads in a .RDS file as you do above and it ran properly. Try to check the byte count on the .RDS file in your Mission file viewer.

Make sure the the file size looks correct. If it says 0kB or something that looks obviously too small, then the file probably didn’t upload properly and is actually being stored as an empty file. This would lead to the behavior you are seeing where the files don’t show up when you call print(list.files()).

Let me know what you find here.

Hi Todd,